52 Weeks of Fun

Not Just Destination Finders, But Destination Storytellers


, Rick Shelton

George Miller Covered Bridge


George Miller Bridge was constructed in 1879 and is a covered Smith through truss. It was renovated in the 1990s by an Amish construction company. This bridge spans Eagle Creek and is 162 feet long, almost 16 feet wide, and has a vertical clearance of just over 11 feet. It is open to vehicular traffic.

The bridge is named after was not, in this case, named for the landowner at the time of construction. It was named for a WWI veteran named George Henry Miller who was born around 1900, and whose father, Jacob had been the landowner until his death. The name of the road and the name of the bridge are both named after the same George Miller. His brother, Walter, died in the war, and the American Legion Post in nearby Russellville bears his name.

Located south of Russellville of US 62. Turn onto George Miller Road (County Road 77) and travel about 2 miles. The bridge coordinates are 38°50'14" N, 83°45'02" W.

, James Back
, Bill Eichelberger

A 52 Weeks of Fun Fascinating Fact about George Miller Covered Bridge

Local Amish and Mennonite crews from the Amos Schwartz Construction Company of Geneva, Indiana performed the renovation work on the bridge in the 1990s.

Upcoming Events




Coming Soon: To do, see, stay, etc

  • George Miller Covered Bridge
  • Russellville