52 Weeks of Fun

Not Just Destination Finders, But Destination Storytellers


, Facebook

Hall Covered Bridge


Also known as the Osgood Bridge, the Hall Covered Bridge is a Town lattice truss bridge, built in 1982 as a replica of a circa-1867 bridge. It carries Hall Bridge Road across the Saxtons River just north of its junction with Vermont Route 121.

The Hall Covered Bridge is located in a rural area of southern Rockingham, west of the village of Bellows Falls, spanning the Saxtons River about 1.2 miles east of the village of Saxtons River. It is a single-span lattice truss bridge, based on the patent of architect Ithiel Town, and rests on stone abutments. Its sides are clad in vertical board siding, with three diamond-shaped window openings, and it is topped by a gabled metal roof. The bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.

The original bridge was built in 1867 by Sanford Granger, a local master bridge builder. At the time of its listing on the National Register of Historic Places, it was one of three surviving 19th-century covered bridges in the town (out of 17 documented to exist). The bridge was destroyed by an overweight truck in 1980, and the replica was built in 1982 by Milton S. Graton, whose penchant for authenticity extended to the use of oxen to move the finished bridge into place.

The bridge coordinates are 43°08'14.6"N 72°29'14.5"W

, Facebook
, Trip Advisor

A 52 Weeks of Fun Fascinating Fact about Hall Covered Bridge

The original Hall Covered Bridge was destroyed by an overweight truck in 1980.

Upcoming Events




Coming Soon: To do, see, stay, etc

  • Hall Covered Bridge
  • Bellows Falls